I, today, instead of deboarding Metro at Mandi House station decided to foray into the swanky new Heritage metro line further into the famed Walled City of Delhi. After crossing Delhi Gate and Jama Masjid, I got down on Red Fort station. Interiors shining with 3D art installations and Mughal art spinning the rich history of the past, I was thrilled by the presence old photographs and maps of Shahjahanabad. I spent next 20 minutes reading the descriptions and absorbing the vibe of this place. It was different, beyond the normalities of the present. Imagine it is where Mughals rode on horses and elephants, Britishers moved on rickshaws, now stands this mammoth station waiting for normal people to come and take metro ride? How times change! Anyway, after feeling the modern makeshifts at the station, it was time for the real thing. It was a while since I last visited this place. I was excited and ready to explore my favorite city’s heart. Thus, I took the elevator and exited using my PayTm, upping slowly into the face of the red marvel, the Red Fort, the symbol of heritage and reminder of Dilli’s 400 years under the Mughal rule. It was beautiful, reflecting in the moonlight, slowly dipping in the noise of the city and enjoying the life that it faces. Yes, it was life of Chandni Chowk. Chandni Chowk awaited. Snail slow, packed like sardines, a true magic of symbolism and humanity in the face of Delhi. After crossing roads after roads, I finally reached my resort. Sabzi Kachori for dinner with a slice of mango pickle. I had two plates and slid into the bylanes, man to man, loaders shouting on the top of their voice, I finally reached Chandni Chowk Metro. Turning back, I saw once more, to the city where sun never sets, and went inside and boarded the metro I am traveling right now.

Life’s what you make it. Time’s what you see it through.

 

delhi-heritage-759

Leave a comment